I’m a Romanian in my mid thirties; I have a very strong background in programming with extensive reverse engineering experience. Even though my CV doesn’t sport an extensive financial section, I believe I have a rather good understanding of the Forex market, acquired since 2003 when I first started to gain significant interest in it. Forex caught my eye as early as 2001, but the only related activity I performed was sporadic demo trading until 2003. I’m not one of those self-proclaimed experienced traders, quite the contrary; however, I do have some trading experience (read: “I burned my fair share of money”). I completely stopped trading both manual and by EA in 2009, the chief reason being that it was exerting too great a psychological stress and I decided it’s just not for me. I have been working as a game programmer for over 10 years; starting with 2012 I am responsible with the automated trading aspect of tradable.

The blog

The abundance of commercial EAs was drawing my attention, so I started to check out this and that EA, do some backtesting, read deeper into what the authors are saying and so on, only to find out that the large majority are scams or copies. I figured that I’m probably a lot more qualified to do this than the average EA buyer, so I started this blog as a means to point a finger at shady EAs. I later decided to turn it into a means of pointing the finger at solid EAs, which is a much easier task, since there are so few of them. Hopefully, you will be able to find an EA you like and you will share your experiences with it in the blog comments.


While this started as a fully independent review site, after a while it became apparent that it just didn’t work that way, since it was eating too much of my time and I always chose to work on a paid project instead of writing a review. See the Times change… post for further information.

Copyrighted material

Although not all the EAs that are being reviewed here have been purchased by me personally, if you’re looking for cracked EAs or pirated trading methods, you need to start looking elsewhere – you will not find any EA or download link for any copyrighted material here.

In addition, if you see the review of an EA that you might want to run on your live account, my advice is: buy it. Do not use a pirated copy; by buying it, not only do you support the developer, but you also receive updates (in most cases) and have the certainty that the trading it’s going to do is genuine. Plus, if it performed well in my tests, chances are it’s gonna pay for itself.


Keep in mind that I’m open to critique. If you think I did something wrong or just didn’t perform a test that I should have, simply post a comment and let me know. I’ll be sure to update where necessary. Also, if you’re wondering why I did a particular test, ask. If you purchased one of the EAs reviewed, feel free to share your experience with it in the comments, even if it didn’t go as well as you hoped it would; I don’t intend this to be an advertising site, I’d rather like it to be an informative resource as it has been from the start. I won’t censor any comments as long as they’re respectful, on the topic and there’s no more foul language than I’d use myself.

EA authors

If you’d like me to write a review about your EA, feel free to contact me about it, but keep in mind that I might choose not to write a review if your EA isn’t a very good performer.

EA users

Did you notice an EA that stands out from the rest and you’d like to read a review about it? Contact me and we’ll see if it’s worth writing about.

  • #1 written by Jeff December 21, 2009 (6 years ago)

    Brit Are u going to make any EA’s yourself i would love to find a great scalping ea and a good broker to run it on

  • #2 written by birt December 21, 2009 (6 years ago)

    Currently, I don’t have any plans to program an EA for commercialization. I do write EAs on a contract basis occasionally, but that’s a different topic.

    As for a great scalping EA with a good broker… I can’t make an EA recommendation, but I can point out that it surfaced recently that Dukascopy will feature the MT4 platform starting from January 2010. I only know them by reputation – they’re supposedly one of the best brokers out there, but whenever you choose a scalping EA that suits you, you should test it on several brokers’ demos and it might be a good idea to make one of them Dukascopy.

  • #3 written by Don March 21, 2010 (6 years ago)


    I’ve missed your reviews. When do you expect to start writing again?

  • #4 written by birt March 22, 2010 (6 years ago)

    I’m afraid it’s not going to happen anytime soon, I’m just too busy for the time being 🙁

  • #5 written by SixPackTrader April 11, 2010 (6 years ago)


    What do you think of this “Forex Luger” website ?

    DNS lookup leads to “Sami Castello”…

    Marketing looks thick on this one ?
    Would you review it soon ?

    Thanks and Regards,

    • #6 written by birt April 12, 2010 (6 years ago)

      Unfortunately, I don’t have the time to write reviews anymore. However, regarding the Forex Luger EA, I can tell you it will most likely perform very bad in a live environment due to spreads and slippage. The forward demo test often takes 1 pip profit and that just doesn’t work on a live account, slippage typically kills something like this.

  • #7 written by John Williams September 6, 2010 (6 years ago)

    Hi Birt,
    I can appreciate not having the time to do reviews, but can you perhaps point me to someone who does quality, unbiased, reviews of commercial Ea’s? It doesn’t have to be a free service, I don’t mind paying for quality.

  • #8 written by Abdulwakeel January 14, 2011 (5 years ago)

    This one seems promising and I’d like if you can perform a review on it “Hyper EA” by

    • #9 written by birt January 14, 2011 (5 years ago)

      Thanks for the suggestion. I’ve also noticed it several months ago and it seems promising indeed. Unfortunately, it’s no longer available for sale so there’s no point to writing a review.

      • #10 written by Abdulwakeel January 16, 2011 (5 years ago)

        Here’s a new one you can look it up,

        • #11 written by birt January 19, 2011 (5 years ago)

          Once again, thanks for the suggestion but I was ahead of you again 🙂

          I wrote the first draft of the EURClimber review last week and published it yesterday.

  • #12 written by Abdulwakeel March 25, 2011 (5 years ago)

    can you check this EA out to see if it’s worth a review

    • #13 written by birt March 27, 2011 (5 years ago)

      Thanks for the suggestion. I was already writing the article when you posted it, though. A couple of readers were a few days faster than you and suggested it via mail 🙂

  • #14 written by Abdulwakeel May 7, 2011 (5 years ago)

    Birt just wanna let u know there’s a new EA on board that seems profitable in the long run, Steady Winner (

  • #16 written by Alex June 9, 2011 (5 years ago)

    Hello Birt,

    What about advertising on your site? … Please email me your pricelist

    • #17 written by birt June 9, 2011 (5 years ago)

      While I appreciate the offer and thank you for it, I do not want to add any advertising to the site, at least not for the time being. Should this change in the future, I’ll be sure to get back to you.

  • #18 written by Alex June 10, 2011 (5 years ago)

    OK… last question:
    Maybe I can offer exchanging links:
    Your link on 2 sites – and
    One my link ( on your site

    • #19 written by birt June 20, 2011 (5 years ago)

      I’m sorry but I don’t have a link exchange section and I don’t really plan on adding one soon. Once again, if that changes in the future I will keep your generous offer in mind.

  • #20 written by Daniel June 19, 2011 (5 years ago)

    Hey Birt,

    I think this might be something to your liking:

    I’m not sure of you can get your hands on a copy for testing though, this one seems to be “a different cup of tea” than most others out there…

    Regards, Daniel W

    • #21 written by birt June 20, 2011 (5 years ago)

      It looks highly suspicious to me. All the forward tests are demo accounts and all of them end sometime in March. There are no backtests either. I won’t go through the trouble of asking them for a copy.

  • #22 written by greg June 20, 2011 (5 years ago)

    Hey Brit,

    Is Forex MegaDroid any good?


    • #23 written by birt June 20, 2011 (5 years ago)

      The opinions on that are divided. Some people would answer yes, some people would answer no. I don’t think I will ever write a full review for it but I might add it to the watchlist at some point.

  • #24 written by MO June 20, 2011 (5 years ago)

    Dukascopy tickdata and mtf backtests

    Hi Birt, 1st thanks for great dukascopy stuff.
    I use a simple MTF EA on M15, M60, M240 where the indi must agree on all timeframes.
    -With standard MT4 90% quality, no problems
    -With forward test, no problems
    -With dukascopy an non MTF indi (iMA, standard cross), no problems
    -With dukascopy, and mtf indi (iMA), no one order is executed

    Thanks for any suggestions


    • #25 written by birt June 20, 2011 (5 years ago)

      Did you generate HST files and did you copy them to the history/broker folder?

      • #26 written by MO June 20, 2011 (5 years ago)

        No, only the fxt files in \tester\history (all 7 timeframes)

        • #27 written by MO June 20, 2011 (5 years ago)

          do i need the hst files too?

          • #28 written by birt June 20, 2011 (5 years ago)

            You only need the FXT for the timeframe you are going to actually run the backtest on. You most definitely need to copy the HST files as well. The reason is detailed somewhere in the tick data page comments but it’s probably rather hard to find it.

            • #29 written by MO June 20, 2011 (5 years ago)

              thanks Birt, its working after copying the hst files and disconnecting from the broker, which avoids overwriting the hst files.

  • #30 written by AbdulWakeel June 23, 2011 (5 years ago)

    Birt are you taking a look into

  • #32 written by Nick McDonald March 1, 2012 (4 years ago)

    Hi Birt,

    Why don’t you forward test signal services as well? I understand the whole lack of back test thing. But I believe that signal services stand a much better chance of surviving in the long term because of the human discretion element.



    • #33 written by birt March 1, 2012 (4 years ago)

      I forward test signal services, too. However, out of the ~5 or so tested, 2 have failed in a major way. See Genial Invest and MyFXDuplicate. I believe quite the opposite: due to the human discretion element, manual trading tends to be worse than automatic in many cases. There are exceptions, of course, but not many. Anyway, bottom line, since I’m using live accounts, I’m naturally not very eager to see such failing performances. If you want to point out any signal service that you believe to be trustworthy, please feel free to contact me via email, I might consider forward testing it if its track record inspires confidence.

  • #34 written by bob May 3, 2012 (4 years ago)

    Hi Birt,

    Great website! Have you done a backtest on Vengeance EA 1.1 already?

  • #35 written by bob July 26, 2012 (4 years ago)

    Hi Birt,

    Have you heard of A.M.B.E.R. already? what are you’re thought about it? Are you going to test it?

  • #36 written by Odo January 23, 2014 (2 years ago)

    Hi Birt, I wanted say thank you for this great site that it has been in the past. It has helped me. Now I there is little activity here anymore. It makes me wonder did this site help you along your path? and did you, the guru, find finally a basket of EAs that you trust and run? Or was that ever your goal. The later would be nice to know; if you managed, maybe some of use will too.

    • #37 written by birt June 15, 2014 (2 years ago)

      I’ve stopped trading for profit some 4 years ago or more. It was way too stressful. I plan to bring the site up to speed once more, though.

  • #38 written by yongming August 18, 2014 (2 years ago)


  • #39 written by kesho hurria May 13, 2015 (1 year ago)

    what do you think of frt

  • You may use these HTML tags: <a> <abbr> <acronym> <b> <blockquote> <cite> <code> <del> <em> <i> <q> <s> <strike> <strong>


  • Comment Feed for this Post
Go to Top