Expert Advisor Top – Compare Live Forward Performance

This page is meant to help everyone find and follow the live results of the best Forex robot that suits their trading style. The performances are analyzed and indexed in a way that permits the best trading system to make it to the top of the chart in a reasonable length of time – please see the details below the table for more information. All expert advisors on this page are running on live accounts.

System Weeks in test Total gain Closed pips Monthly return Risk reward ratio Winning trades Max closed drawdown Max drawdown (incl. floating) Max floating drawdown pips Average trades per day Profit factor Birt's index Balance chart
Easy Walker FX 10 16.27% 156.8 6.66% 0.95:1 76.19% 2.97% 3.78% 29.9 1.24 3.39 2.37 Easy Walker FX
FX Flash 80 60.28% 2249.5 2.55% 4.74:1 87.50% 11.56% 11.56% 149.8 2.21 1.48 1.12 FX Flash
Forex Invest Bot 137 193.35% 10114.9 3.42% 0.98:1 58.15% 34.89% 34.89% 267.1 2.17 1.41 0.99 Forex Invest Bot
Million Dollar Pips EURUSD 159 654.50% 3705.0 5.54% 0.64:1 49.44% 46.36% 46.36% 113.9 2.81 1.52 0.88 Million Dollar Pips EURUSD
Note: this EA requires special broker conditions.
Forex Real Profit EA - PFX 125 103.66% 5550.7 2.47% 2.51:1 78.69% 16.63% 16.63% 558.7 5.68 1.47 0.86 Forex Real Profit EA - PFX
FX Capitalist 72 20.63% 251.8 0.97% 0.32:1 32.54% 8.48% 8.48% 12.4 0.46 1.51 0.63 FX Capitalist
Note: this EA requires special broker conditions.
IrisFX 160 44.84% 2753.3 1.00% 4.70:1 87.10% 7.19% 7.19% 81.2 3.56 1.44 0.62 IrisFX
Forex Robin VOL 108 20.05% 1784.1 0.72% 0.62:1 42.47% 13.53% 13.53% 163.9 1.37 1.19 0.57 Forex Robin VOL
FAP Turbo 133 77.69% 3152.7 1.87% 6.62:1 89.72% 27.00% 27.00% 146.8 3.46 1.32 0.55 FAP Turbo
Million Dollar Pips USDJPY 149 346.65% 2244.0 4.39% 0.52:1 46.55% 58.13% 58.13% 115.4 1.47 1.68 0.48 Million Dollar Pips USDJPY
Note: this EA requires special broker conditions.
Keltner Pro 5 1.18% 269.0 0.98% 0.31:1 75.00% 0.15% 0.15% 14.2 0.44 9.74 0.41 Keltner Pro
Forex Megabot 206 41.93% -102.0 0.73% 3.02:1 63.64% 14.84% 14.84% 50.0 0.06 0.58 0.35 Forex Megabot
Hyper EA Pro 106 31.15% 860.6 1.10% 2.29:1 77.41% 12.23% 12.23% 104.0 1.66 1.50 0.33 Hyper EA Pro
Forex Megadroid 92 13.45% 640.6 0.41% 4.57:1 92.53% 5.16% 5.16% 112.6 0.52 2.71 0.30 Forex Megadroid
Hyper EA 142 21.35% 292.7 0.59% 1.28:1 74.15% 6.13% 6.13% 57.2 0.21 2.25 0.25 Hyper EA
SteadyWinner 160 22.79% 242.7 0.55% 2.49:1 78.95% 12.80% 12.80% 137.6 0.47 1.50 0.18 SteadyWinner
PipJet 113 34.43% 385.0 1.12% 11.26:1 94.55% 46.94% 46.94% 136.7 0.65 1.54 0.17 PipJet
Two Percent Daily 148 24.75% 1369.1 0.64% 3.06:1 83.31% 13.52% 13.52% 301.2 0.86 1.63 0.16 Two Percent Daily
Forex Combo System 158 22.46% 2506.6 0.55% 1.62:1 63.93% 30.73% 30.73% 243.2 2.17 1.10 0.12 Forex Combo System
Smart FX Breakout Hunter 148 11.52% 938.3 0.32% 2.43:1 73.73% 9.66% 9.66% 257.7 1.14 1.16 0.05 Smart FX Breakout Hunter
Forex Growth Bot 190 18.40% 1242.0 0.38% 0.55:1 36.51% 36.19% 36.19% 336.0 1.61 1.04 0.04 Forex Growth Bot
Forex Combo System EURUSD 206 22.78% -571.0 0.43% 1.85:1 56.28% 31.82% 31.82% 164.0 0.18 0.69 0.03 Forex Combo System EURUSD
FX Monetizer 12 0.00% 0.0 0.00% 1.00:1 0.00% 0.00% 0.00% 0.0 0.00 - 0.00 FX Monetizer
Volatility Factor 127 6.67% 1885.3 0.22% 2.73:1 75.33% 17.12% 17.12% 1768.8 3.08 1.12 -0.07 Volatility Factor
Joker EA 80 2.81% 249.0 0.15% 3.53:1 79.31% 11.71% 11.71% 167.0 0.43 1.08 -0.15 Joker EA
Note: this EA requires special broker conditions.
Smart FX Master Scalper 138 5.10% 4125.0 0.14% 2.17:1 71.41% 24.23% 24.23% 234.1 4.62 1.15 -0.16 Smart FX Master Scalper
Forex Combo System GBPUSD 181 2.26% 271.0 0.05% 1.47:1 60.23% 25.79% 25.79% 260.0 0.58 1.03 -0.28 Forex Combo System GBPUSD
Wallstreet Forex Robot 177 1.82% 469.5 0.04% 2.46:1 71.20% 40.19% 40.19% 297.3 2.04 1.01 -0.29 Wallstreet Forex Robot
Steady Growth 149 -2.04% -202.2 -0.05% 0.51:1 33.11% 3.25% 3.25% 148.8 0.40 0.97 -0.41 Steady Growth
PhiBase Synergy 132 -5.38% -548.9 -0.18% 0.84:1 45.26% 27.67% 27.67% 798.9 0.55 0.99 -0.55 PhiBase Synergy
PhiBase Ray Scalper 83 -12.15% -330.5 -0.67% 2.50:1 69.37% 18.50% 18.50% 135.5 0.53 0.91 -1.07 PhiBase Ray Scalper
Million Dollar Pips GBPUSD 149 -37.52% 49.8 -1.34% 0.78:1 43.47% 48.13% 48.13% 213.9 2.32 0.98 -1.95 Million Dollar Pips GBPUSD
Note: this EA requires special broker conditions.

Brief description of the column headings

  • Weeks in test – self explanatory.
  • Total gain – the total amount gained calculated in relation to the sum of the deposits (in most cases, it’ll be just the initial deposit).
  • Closed pips – the total number of pips realized by all the trades that were closed. Please note that this does not include the number of floating pips that might be the result of any open trades.
  • Monthly return – the monthly return figure calculated by Myfxbook.
  • Risk reward ratio – calculated by dividing the average losing trade by the average winning trade.
  • Winning trades – the percent of trades with a positive outcome.
  • Max closed drawdown – the maximum “realized” drawdown, meaning the largest drawdown ever encountered during the account lifetime. Please note that this does not take equity into account, so “unrealized” drawdowns from floating profits are not taken into account here. Basically, it’s the drawdown calculated by Myfxbook as the largest difference between a balance peak and the lowest following bottom.
  • Max drawdown (incl. floating) – unlike the closed drawdown above, this also includes floating (unrealized) drawdowns so in some cases it will be larger than its counterpart, especially for grid, martingale and hold-and-pray EAs.
  • Max floating drawdown pips – the maximum recorded value of floating negative profit, in pips.
  • Average trades per day – the number of average trades per day. Naturally, the calculation only includes trading days, the weekends are excluded.
  • Profit factor – the sum of all positive trades divided by the sum of all negative trades. A profit factor below 1 means the system is not currently profitable which should also be easily visible from the other stats.
  • Birt’s index – a performance index of my own based on a Sortino Ratio calculated on a weekly period, but also factoring the system lifetime and the floating drawdown. More details about its calculation are available. Please note that it’s a work in progress and it’s likely to change as time passes and its potential flaws are observed.
  • Balance chart – this one is pretty obvious.

Update frequency

The system details are updated about once every 30 minutes. The balance chart images and the Birt’s index figures are updated 4 times per day.

General info

This page is designed to continuously grow and list a wide array of expert advisors together with signal services. There are no limitations to the systems that will make it here. Even if an EA is on my No Review List it might still show up here. I recommend doing your due diligence before purchasing any systems that have not been fully reviewed.

As a general rule, I will stop systems that reach a drawdown in excess of 50% but I might make exceptions and stop them earlier or later depending on other factors.

To have an even ground, I am attempting to target a 5% monthly return and a maximum of 20% as drawdown for each system, but that’s mostly guesswork and it will surely vary wildly.

  • #1 written by GeorgeO August 2, 2011 (3 years ago)

    Birt 3.0 – wow!

  • #2 written by DennisL August 2, 2011 (3 years ago)

    Outstanding! Thanks, Birt.

  • #3 written by Jim August 2, 2011 (3 years ago)

    Quality work! Will visit regularly. Thanks!

  • #4 written by Stefan August 2, 2011 (3 years ago)

    Beautifull :) !

  • #5 written by Sulaiman August 2, 2011 (3 years ago)

    You always awesome Birt! :D

  • #6 written by Sulaiman August 2, 2011 (3 years ago)

    You’re not super affiliate but SUPERB affiliate! \m/

  • #7 written by peter August 2, 2011 (3 years ago)

    Congrats on forthcoming wedding. I see you are not marrying in haste. My father told me many years ago when
    I became engaged” marry in haste , repent at your leisure”.
    He was a cranky old bugger at times.

    • #8 written by birt August 5, 2011 (3 years ago)

      Thanks :)

      Your father might’ve been cranky, but he was probably right. Well, at least in this matter, generally speaking of course.

  • #9 written by peter August 3, 2011 (3 years ago)

    Hi Birt
    Wow! EA Top is destined to become No1 page in Robo World.
    I wonder if you could consider a small addition to the template. A column showing what Risk level you have used
    would be very helpful to me at least. We all have different
    appetites for risk and you seem to be conservative whether
    by nature or experience. I run quite a few accounts and I vary risk so I have some accounts in the Fast Lane (when they don’t have much money) move to Medium when they have doubled and go conservative when I stand to lose
    a lot.
    Just a thought. It’s your baby.
    Cheers
    Peter

    • #10 written by birt August 5, 2011 (3 years ago)

      Glad you like it!

      As for the risk, you are perfectly right I am very conservative, part by nature but mostly by experience. One can’t realistically expect to get rich overnight and I personally view the Forex world just as an investment with more potential but also with more risk than most other investments.

      I will leave the risk column you mentioned out for now because of the misc issues with it (e.g. FGB only has lots and the same goes for a number of EAs) and also because of the lack of space that the column would require if I were to convert it into a more flexible display that would allow lots as well as risk percents. What I might do instead is set up a download of the .set files that I am using for each EA. Not going to happen very soon, though.

  • #11 written by Maciej August 25, 2011 (3 years ago)

    Would that be possible to add the column such as ‘daily change’ or ‘weekly change’ in regards to pips or percentage? This could be helpful to see clearly how specific bots behaved in a particular market conditions.

  • #12 written by Abdulmajeed September 23, 2011 (2 years ago)

    I see that you are testing rare EAs.
    Will, you should include the famous FapTurbo in your testing. ForexHacked also is an EA you might want to try.

    • #13 written by birt September 23, 2011 (2 years ago)

      What do you mean by “rare”?

      As for the two EAs you mentioned, I already wrote about them ages ago. I won’t forward test them because in my opinion they are not profitable. The article links: FAP Turbo and Forex Hacked

  • #14 written by biz October 11, 2011 (2 years ago)

    Strange that ParaSwing has 100% winning trades here although its 1st trade in the forward test was loser (-58.9 pips). On myfxbook is profitability = 83%. Thought it should match.

    • #15 written by birt October 30, 2011 (2 years ago)

      Although I am not sure how come the 100% thing was there, I found a small issue with the EA that was calculating this figure. Since the terminal didn’t have all history displayed, it was only calculating the figure for the last month. This was fixed for all the forward tests and it will update as soon as the market starts today.

  • #16 written by Ash October 11, 2011 (2 years ago)

    Birt,

    As Tom pointed out, it seems the TFOT EA from iticsoftware is running on real $10k account on Alpari US and has made $20K in the last one year. That’s a great return.

    Would you be able to review it ? The links are:
    http://iticsoftware.com/expert-advisors/forex-expert-advisor
    http://www.myfxbook.com/members/iticsoftware/expert-advisor-tfot/65539

    • #17 written by birt October 29, 2011 (2 years ago)

      I’m going to stay away from TFOT. It is an almost identical copy of an early Forex Combo System version (I believe 2.1) with the reversal strategy removed and with a steeper price tag.

      • #18 written by Mike July 16, 2012 (2 years ago)

        Hi Birt,
        You made your comment regarding TFOT a while ago, and as I see now in myfxbook, Forex Combo System had a huge drawdown in 2012, while TFOT performed quite well. So may be they are the same after all. Do you want to reconsider?
        Price tag is absurd high indeed.

        • #19 written by Mike July 16, 2012 (2 years ago)

          sorry, typo, I meant NOT the same

        • #20 written by birt July 16, 2012 (2 years ago)

          Well, I decompiled and compared the code and it’s very clear that TFOT is copied from an older Forex Combo System (v2.42 if I remember correctly). So, what does this mean? It means the 3rd strategy in FCS is not that good and it also means that the updates that were applied to FCS in the meantime did not have a positive effect.

          Finally, I’m sorry but despite its very good performance, I don’t want to get involved with promoting a product that was as good as stolen.

          • #21 written by Aslam September 22, 2012 (1 year ago)

            Hi Birt,
            I am following you for the last 2 years. Does this mean that the 3rd strategy was corrected in the later versions 3 and 3.8 of FCS.
            Thanks.
            Aslam

            • #22 written by birt September 22, 2012 (1 year ago)

              It certainly received some attention from the developer in versions 3 and 4 and in theory it was improved, but I haven’t done a comparative test so I’m afraid I can’t tell you more about the changes.

  • #23 written by Eben October 28, 2011 (2 years ago)

    Hi Birt,
    Would you consider Tom’s EA for a review later? Seems worth it.
    Thanks

    • #24 written by Sam October 28, 2011 (2 years ago)

      I tried using there demo EA but my bitdefender deleted their .dll file.

      • #25 written by birt November 26, 2011 (2 years ago)

        I added it to my No Review List. It’s an overpriced martingale that will likely blow quite a few accounts.

  • #26 written by Sam October 28, 2011 (2 years ago)

    Hi Birt

    If you got the chance could please review on the follow EAs what you think?
    Forex EA Lab
    http://forexealab.com

    Rapid Forex Profits
    http://www.rapidforexprofits.com

    Auto FX Firing Pin
    http://autofxfiringpin.com

    and friend of mine email me this site with free EAs but I’m bit worried about installing there activator any review about them will be great.
    http://fexea.com

    Thanks for your time.

  • #27 written by Alex Booth December 10, 2011 (2 years ago)

    Nice site Birt

    Would you be able to do a review of my TTDI Expert Advisor? Looking forward to speaking further

    Alex Booth

    • #28 written by birt December 11, 2011 (2 years ago)

      Thanks for the appreciation. However, I’ve taken a quick peek at your EA and I haven’t been able to find any forward test of it nor any backtest on years prior to 2011. The backtests you posted only have 57 trades each, which is a sample that’s too small to be relevant, especially in the case of a Martingale EA. If you would like me to post a forward test, please use the contact form and send some relevant backtests.

  • #29 written by Garry Higgins December 16, 2011 (2 years ago)

    To Birt and other traders:

    I have built my own EA and its doing well on back testing and demo. It uses multiple pairs. My question is, Is there a platform or app out there that would allow me to back test multiple pairs? My MT4 platform only allows one pair at a time. Id like to trade 4 to 6 pair at once. ( its not a scalper)

    Garry

    • #30 written by birt December 16, 2011 (2 years ago)

      You can do that with MT5 or, even better, with JForex. There are many other platforms that support multicurrency backtesting but these two are the easiest to get. If I’d have to choose, I’d go for JForex seeing that MT5 interpolates ticks. There’s a catch, though: no matter what you choose, you have to rewrite the EA completely.

  • #31 written by Garry Higgins December 16, 2011 (2 years ago)

    Rewrite my EA ? OMG, no way. Perhaps I could drop my raw mql code into the mq5 editor and it will convert to mq5 when its compiled?

    Garry

    • #32 written by birt December 16, 2011 (2 years ago)

      Definitely not. However, there was an MQL4 to MQL5 conversion script that would do most of the work automatically. Not sure if it’s still supported or not, though.

  • #33 written by Novan December 19, 2011 (2 years ago)

    Hi Birt,

    Can you put Fx Voodoo on test…?
    want to know its performs compared to MDP..

    thank you

    • #34 written by birt December 19, 2011 (2 years ago)

      FxVoodoo is a scam EA and I would never ever risk real money with it, so I will not run a forward test. It’s curve fit for a single year. For more details, please check out the No Review List.

  • #35 written by Aspro January 13, 2012 (2 years ago)

    Hi Birt,
    I tried Forex Shocker a few months ago and it didn’t do any good; but I found a site that puts it at the top of their table. Have you tested it?

    • #36 written by birt January 13, 2012 (2 years ago)

      Just in case you missed it, Forex Shocker is in the top chart above your comment :)

      It’s been doing moderately well for me. The only way I would see it get to the top would be if it was running on a demo account or perhaps if it was the only one in the list. It’s not a bad EA, but it’s very sensitive to spread and execution.

  • #37 written by dalec January 19, 2012 (2 years ago)

    Hi Birt!
    Just a question. You have added to your ‘no review’ list FXPAPA. And your reason stated was that it is the same as cyber-forex, which blew its account 2 months in.
    Whilst it appears it is the same vendor, the system is actually different upon questioning and a bit of myfxbook research:
    There is a max open orders of 3.
    It trades EUR and GBP.
    Position sizes are not increased after a loss or after successive opens.

    So there is a slight chance it could be a viable system.

    You can see it run live via myfxbook if you are interested:
    http://www.myfxbook.com/members/FxPapa/fxpapa-expert-advisor/198366

    Any chance of a review after seeing the differences?
    Thanks birt.
    Top of the day/night to you!
    Dale

    • #38 written by birt January 19, 2012 (2 years ago)

      To me it still looks very much like Cyberforex. I’ve taken it off the No review list for the time being as I don’t have proof that they are identical, but judging by their forward tests and backtests they’re pretty much the same. The vendor mentions fxpapa is limited at 3 concurrent trades, but seeing that there’s no stop loss, that’s quite meaningless. Unless the vendor decides to post some 1999-2011 backtests (which they didn’t in spite of the numerous requests on myfxbook), I am still inclined to believe it’s an account-crashing grid EA.

      • #39 written by dalec January 20, 2012 (2 years ago)

        Thanks Birt, appreciate your reply.

        • #40 written by birt June 28, 2012 (2 years ago)

          Turns out I was quite wrong, it’s been doing great ever since.

  • #41 written by Aspro January 23, 2012 (2 years ago)

    Hi Birt,
    is Thor something you have looked at?

    • #42 written by birt February 6, 2012 (2 years ago)

      Yeah. I believe it is a tweaked copy of MDP. The vendor was even caught red-handed and had to come up with a lame excuse (read the beginning of the myfxbook thread). Just to give you some background info, it’s the same vendor that sells EA Shark – take a look at that on my No review list to get an idea of his bullshitting capabilities. Moreover, if you read the myfxbook thread carefully you will notice how the vendor keeps dodging questions about a live account.

      As a side issue, there seem to be two opinion groups: some people say that an EA that’s based on another EA (aka it contains stolen code) is worth considering as long as it brings profits; the other group advocates that such EAs should be boycotted without a second thought. While I completely understand the point of the people that are open to trying such EAs, I’m more of a member of the other group myself, so if I can avoid copied EAs I will.

      • #43 written by scalper October 8, 2012 (1 year ago)

        can’t agree more with Birt.

        Theft is theft; no excuses.

        If these guys stealing are happy with their act; why are they protecting their EA? do to others what you want others to do to you.

  • #44 written by Geoff February 4, 2012 (2 years ago)

    On myfxbook, I asked FxPapa what safety nets are in place for the EA. He responded:

    “FxPapa EA uses equity stop loss. Default value is 10 which means the EA would close the positions if the total loss be more than 10% of the account balance. The EA may open up to 3 positions at the same time. In this test we have used 15% risk.”

    As far as profit-taking, for example, he also said this:

    “When there is 2 open positions like that you are talking about, the EA close 2 positions when the total net profit be 10 pips. If you review the history you can see that the EA has closed the 2 positions in the same time, first one on +36.5 pips and the second one on -24.7 pips.”

    So, barring its losing control of trades or some gross coding error, would this be safe? 10% total risk for all open trades seems a bit high but doesn’t sound insane. What do you think?

    • #45 written by birt February 6, 2012 (2 years ago)

      In the backtest posted on the website, this equity stop has not been hit even once. Couple that with the fact that the author has simply ignored the requests for more backtests while answering other questions and it suddenly starts to smell fishy.

  • #46 written by Geoff February 5, 2012 (2 years ago)

    Birt, would you mind doing your famous 99% tick data backtests on FxPapa?

  • #47 written by Geoff February 6, 2012 (2 years ago)

    Just found out this is a trade copier, so backtesting is impossible I think.

  • #48 written by Paul February 6, 2012 (2 years ago)

    Check out this Expert Advisor:

    www dot fxpapa dot com
    http://www.myfxbook.com/members/richowl/rich-owl/236455

    Very Interesting. What is the strategy

    • #49 written by birt February 6, 2012 (2 years ago)

      It’s a grid EA with an equity stop (or so the author claims). Despite numerous requests for backtests on myfxbook, the author has failed to produce any backtest other than the very limited one displayed on the website, which is likely curve fit seeing that there was no equity stop. Personally, I don’t trust it and I won’t post a forward test until the author cares to back it up and to answer the less comfortable queries that the users have.

  • #50 written by Paul February 6, 2012 (2 years ago)

    Check out this Expert Advisor:

    www dot richowl dot com
    http://www.myfxbook.com/members/richowl/rich-owl/236455

    Very Interesting. What is the strategy

    • #51 written by birt February 6, 2012 (2 years ago)

      This one seems to be an unlimited grid. Since such a strategy has a great potential to crash accounts, I’m staying away from it for now. As a noteworthy item, the backtests posted on the website only span 2011 and both have a drawdown of over 50% which doesn’t really inspire much confidence.

  • #52 written by Chris February 13, 2012 (2 years ago)

    Hi bird
    Do you have experience with EA GridMeUpFX?

  • #53 written by Murray February 15, 2012 (2 years ago)

    Hi Birt,

    Can I suggest you forward test or review PhiBase PRO. They look to have used your methods to get 99% tick backtests so hopefully they are the real deal. EA runs on 1 hour charts and they also have 10 year 90% backtests on the site. Forward test too, although its only just started.

    http://www.phibase.com/

    http://www.myfxbook.com/members/phibase/mt4-3630071/245927

    Regards, Murray

  • #54 written by Geoff February 20, 2012 (2 years ago)

    GridMeUp just crashed after about a one year run and restarted a new test this month (the previous year’s data appears to be wiped). The author is convinced that he can fix problems with the strategy (apparently it did not close all trades at a certain DD point – 40% I think he had it set at).

    http://www.myfxbook.com/members/odrisb/gridmeupfx-2012/107990

    It’s worthwhile to read through all the comments.

  • #55 written by Novan April 2, 2012 (2 years ago)

    hi Birt,

    is rich owl ever listed on your test?
    http://www.forexpeacearmy.com/metatrader_expert_advisor/rich_owl/real
    I’d like to know your opinion abaout it

    Thank you….

  • #56 written by Hal April 26, 2012 (2 years ago)

    Hi Birt. A friend just turned me on to this site. I read the posts and your replies to them are all negative. So what do you do here? Just test EA’s and find reasons to reject them? If I am missing something, then I apologize, I am brand new here. However, what I think we all need, is for someone as interested in this industry as yourself to tell us what works, if anything, and not only what doesn’t. Thanks, I am not even sure how to post this.

    • #57 written by birt April 26, 2012 (2 years ago)

      You posted this comment below a page that lists a a bunch of expert advisors in forward test. At the time I started each of those forward tests, I was pretty sure that each of these expert advisors has a potential to be profitable. Granted, I’ve been wrong on many counts but if you scroll up and check out the stats and balance charts, you will see that I was quite right with some of them.

      • #58 written by Hal April 26, 2012 (2 years ago)

        Hi Birt. I apologize if my first and previous post came across as disrespectful as a good trading partner of mine said it did. I see now that the tone of it could have been much better and so I wanted to follow up to say that I think your site is terrific, I did take a closer look at the Top, and I believe I will be acting on some of your advice. Thanks for having this website and for all the time and effort you put into it on our behalf. I believe that you know a heck of a lot more than the average EA user and I am sure we all hope that you keep up the good work. Sincerely, Hal.

        • #59 written by birt April 27, 2012 (2 years ago)

          I didn’t think it was disrespectful… Anyway, no harm done and no worries at all. Glad you like the website!

  • #60 written by net April 26, 2012 (2 years ago)

    You’re so dedicated. We really appriciate that.
    After you ran all those eas, do you suggest anyone should have them?
    I mean you could be staying at home and let the eas work for you when you know which one to choose.

    ps.just wonder, what do you do?
    ps2.thanks again!

    • #61 written by birt April 26, 2012 (2 years ago)

      Unless you have really major trading capital (we’re talking several hundred thousand at least), staying at home and making a living by trading Forex EAs is not an option. However, when properly managed, Forex can be a good source of additional income. As a guideline, shooting for anything more than 50-100% yearly return on investment is likely going to result in losses.

      My full time job is game programmer. I work on the website in my spare time (and it kind of eats all of it).

  • #62 written by Raji June 2, 2012 (2 years ago)

    Hi Brit,

    I’m new the forex industry and as you can imagine i have been reading reviews on EAs left and right. I was very impressed by your site, WOW! Thanks for all your effort and time.

    Can you please give me your advise for what EAs to you. I do believe in small gains and diversity. So im think on trading 3-4 robots on a hosted VPS service (FOREXVPS)

    After looking at your EA reviews i was thinking of the following EAs
    1. Kangaroo EA
    2. Forex Growth Robot
    3. Oddbot

    You advise on your top 3-4 robots would be most appreciated. Thanks in advance for all your help

    • #63 written by birt June 3, 2012 (2 years ago)

      Well, the whole point of the EA Top is for everyone to judge the live performance of the EAs and to see which of them are in line with their expectations. I try not to give direct advice because it’s impossible to tell the future and EAs that are doing great now might simply stop performing well in the future. Anyway, in my opinion, you did a good job on your selection and your plan sounds good. The only advice I can offer is not to use too high a risk in your trading and not to expect to become a millionaire in something like a couple of years :)

  • #64 written by Raji June 3, 2012 (2 years ago)

    Thanks for your reply. I will be sure to purschase these robots and let you know how they perform
    I am currently using faptubro and megadroid.

    Do you recommend i stop using them? Based on their coding and unreliabilty, or should i give them a chance?

    • #65 written by birt June 3, 2012 (2 years ago)

      In the limited testing that I did with them, both of them performed poorly for me (see the forward tests above). If you wish to give them a chance, I suggest using a small lot size.

  • #66 written by Raji June 3, 2012 (2 years ago)

    Thanks Brit,

    I was reading your recommendations for brokers. You mentioned a good broker is one that charges commissions. I was always under the assumption that for an EA to be profitable especially if scalping we should have brokers with no commissions but tight spreads. I was previously using Alpari UK Pro Account, and just switch my account to Alpari Classic. Did i make a wrong move.

    Sorry for all these questions, but thanks in advance

    • #67 written by birt June 14, 2012 (2 years ago)

      Generally, brokers that charge a commission are not as inclined to play dirty and in the end if you draw a line, the spread + commission will be lower than the spread on a broker without commissions. So, you might have made a wrong move but you cannot know that unless you find a way to measure everything now (spread, slippage, requotes) and you also have reference measurements from your previous account to compare against.

  • #68 written by Jon July 7, 2012 (2 years ago)

    Have you done a review on the Original Turtle Trader EA yet? I’m very interested in this and curious to know how it does: http://originalturtletrader.com/

    • #69 written by birt July 8, 2012 (2 years ago)

      No and I’m not going to. Many years ago I tried applying that method and many variations of it to Forex and the result was that it simply doesn’t work consistently enough. Their backtests don’t really look like much; that’s an EA that I would not run live. Not to mention that they are using the D1 timeframe and I’m willing to bet they are completely ignoring the GMT offset differences between brokers that lead to different D1 bars that in turn lead to different trades. My $0.02 is that someone tried to implement the turtle method and when the outcome was not good, they decided to sell it by using the turtle story as a marketing gimmick.

  • #70 written by Jazz November 12, 2012 (1 year ago)

    I was wondering if you or any other traders have tried Option Bot? I’ve been interested in it for a few weeks now but I’m still not convinced to buy it. From the research I’ve done, many people like it and I’ve tried to only go by reviews that weren’t affiliates (no offense). I’ve played around with demo accounts and saw profits but I have a couple years experience with bots and know that results from demo accounts and live accounts can differ greatly. Any insight is greatly appreciated.

  • #71 written by ruparaw December 24, 2012 (1 year ago)

    Birt, your review are actually the most precise i’ve saw…excellent job my friend!. Refer to the discontinued ea Kangaroo PFX & Kangaroo EA, your comment mentioned…”Discontinued on 01.12.2012. The forward test hasn’t been stopped for continuity reasons (the review) but it has been removed from the EA Top because it is no longer available for sale. Too bad, it’s easily one of the best EAs I’ve seen so far…” Can you please explain what factor you are referring for the best EAs you’ve seen so far.

  • #72 written by TheSpec December 24, 2012 (1 year ago)

    If Birt has a special arrangement with this top secret broker than his live forward test can not be considered as a fair and reliable source, because none of the other users of that (or any) EA will get the same result.
    In other words it can be called cheating, because it can be very misleading for the potential EA buyers.
    He should use this private, top secret broker with the special arrangement for his private account and not for public reference accounts. For reference account he (and any other reviewers, and vendors) should use average broker accounts as the average users do.

    Showing results that no one else can achieve is quite pointless. It is worse than showing demo results.

  • #73 written by Maksim May 4, 2013 (1 year ago)

    Im using this news trading ea

    http://www.newsspiketrader.com/

  • #74 written by stan May 6, 2013 (1 year ago)

    Sir, I do not see any posts or comments for 2013.Are you no longer testing robots? If you are can you please tell me who are the 5 top robots that you would recommend purchasing.. If possible please respond directly to my email address..
    Thanks,
    Stan…..

  • #75 written by birt May 7, 2013 (1 year ago)

    This page does not typically receive a lot of comments, but all the EAs above are still in test unless otherwise specified. As for recommendations, I steer clear of that, please see http://eareview.net/faq#q-1 for more information.

  • #76 written by jok July 14, 2013 (1 year ago)

    heart attack moment following:

    Please look at EA NeotradeEX. Did he just lose 520000 REAL USD within the last week?

    He must be devastated.

    • #77 written by birt July 14, 2013 (1 year ago)

      Lately a bug has surfaced with myfxbook. Like most of my other accounts, that account had a single deposit of $300 in the beginning. It’s now sitting at $177. If I had half a mil to invest I assure you, Neotradex would be somewhere near the bottom of the list of potential investment vehicles :)

  • #78 written by fullnoize August 18, 2013 (1 year ago)

    hey Birt, I am new at the forex trading thing just wondering what you think about the smart fx technology bots Master Scalper and Breakout Hunter?
    Is it worth giving them a crack or should I be looking at something else?

  • #79 written by GEORGE June 11, 2014 (2 months ago)

    Hello Birt,

    I have just bumped on this website and for sure it is fantastic. I am new in trading and i am planning to start using EAs. I have following up on this new EA brokerarbitrage but up to now i havent read any third party review about it. Would u please assist with some reviews.

    • #80 written by birt June 11, 2014 (2 months ago)

      My recommendation would be to stay away as soon as you hear the word “arbitrage”. Arbitrage is basically stealing from the broker and pretty much every broker has a way to disallow it or provisions in the agreement that would allow them to void your winnings under certain conditions.

  • #81 written by Ianm July 12, 2014 (1 month ago)

    Hi, very useful site.
    Have you any comment on Profit Empire Robot, Comrade Trader, or Better Profit EA.

    • #82 written by birt July 21, 2014 (1 month ago)

      Haven’t looked at any of them yet.

  • #83 written by philip July 21, 2014 (1 month ago)

    Just came across your site.. What in your opinion is the best ea trade copier service out these today?

    Thanks
    Philip.

    • #84 written by birt July 21, 2014 (1 month ago)

      I try to steer clear of trade copiers so I don’t have an informed opinion on the matter.

  • #85 written by age0110 August 24, 2014 (1 week ago)

    Hi, firstly I would like to give you my congrats for your site, it is really clean, tidy and useful. Secondly I would like to ask you if you had the chance to test Nami EA or Forex Noki ? they look really promising :)

    Thanks,
    Albert

  • You may use these HTML tags: <a> <abbr> <acronym> <b> <blockquote> <cite> <code> <del> <em> <i> <q> <strike> <strong>

     

  • Comment Feed for this Post
Go to Top